Click above for more information

Joint Request for Proposals:


Conversion of Town Street Lights to LED Fixtures



Click Here

For Details

In Loving Memory

Kathy Blagdon


Always in our hearts

Commissioner Mary Trescot and Commissioner Bill Blodgett in the Maine State House Hall of Flags for "Maine County Days 2019"

Having access to discounted pricing on prescriptions when you need them can be an important part of getting (and staying!) healthy. NACo’s Live Healthy programs provides members with an average of 31% off generic and 15% off brand name prescription drugs at any of over 65,000 participating retail pharmacies.


Pet Prescription Discounts too!- NACo’s Live Healthy programs also understands that pets are members of the family too. If your pet has prescription medications that can also be used to treat human conditions (like antibiotics), your membership card can be used to receive discounts for your furry friends at participating retail pharmacies also! Click here for more about NACo's Prescription Discount program. 

Lincoln County is the thirteenth largest in population of the sixteen counties located in mid-coast Maine. Its early history is well described as follows:

Lincoln County was the most easterly of the two counties established, June 21, 1760, when York County was first divided. Its western boundary started at the eastern extremity of Casco Bay to New Meadows River, across the Carrying Place to Merrymeeting Bay and then up the Androscoggin River 30 miles and from thence north 2 degrees west to the northern limits of the province.  Its eastern boundary was the Province of Nova Scotia and extended from the sea to the unbounded northern limits of the province of Maine.

The southwest part of this new county had once been Cornwall County of the Colony of New York.  All of the towns in Cornwall County had been destroyed by the Indians before 1700.  The new towns of Georgetown and Pownalborough, and the districts of Newcastle and Woolwich were existent when Lincoln County was established. 

The County, which once comprised more than 90% of Maine, was later divided giving portions to Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, and Washington counties.  Its final boundary was established on April 1, 1860.


The County currently consists of the towns of Alna, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Dresden, Edgecomb, Jefferson, Newcastle, Nobleboro, Somerville, South Bristol, Southport, Waldoboro, Westport Island, Whitefield, Wiscasset; and the plantation of Monhegan.

Wiscasset is the County Seat, hosting the county government, courthouse, and the county jail.

In 2010, Lincoln County’s population represented 2.6% of the state’s total, with a census count of 34,457, a 2.5% increase over 2000.

Source: (accessed March 24, 2018)

Contact the County

​​​Emergencies                                         9-1-1

Sheriff's Office (non-emergency)              Phone: (207) 882-7332

Clerk of Courts                                      Phone: (207)882-6363

District Attorney                                     Phone: (207) 882-7312

Emergency Management                        Phone: (207) 882-7559

Recycling                                              Phone: (207) 882-5276

Regional Planning                                  Phone: (207) 882-4271

Registry of Deeds                                   Phone: (207) 882-7431

Registry of Probate                                 Phone: (207) 882-7392

Two Bridges Regional Jail                        Phone: (207) 882-4268

County Commissioners                           Phone: (207) 882-6311

                                                           Fax: (207) 882-4320

Email Directory

​​Lincoln County Courthouse

32 High Street

P.O. Box 249

Wiscasset, Maine  04578

Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday 8am-4pm

contact webmaster here